Deconstructing Beauty

by animalworkss

There’s no depth to bare bones
No life
No thrill
No music
Just purpose
And yet my skeleton
Is all I am to bear
If I am to gain
Any philosophical standing
I’d rather remain prostrate
Beholding the spirits and souls
To which my thoughts are beholden
Than to systematically peel
My skin and flesh away
‘Til all that’s left to reveal
Is myself, calcified and brittle
Rattling on about principles
No one can digest
Structured but formless
The passing wind composing my words
My life force having done fallen
Through the cracks of my framework
Splattering a patternless mess
On the grounds of my premises
I’d rather remain a whole damn testament
To what it means to fully measure
My metaphysical position in this world
Than to completely miss the point
Of Being here
In exchange for a pat on the back
And a buck
. . . f**k!
If a pat on the back and a buck
Don’t sound good right about now!

.

.

Copyright Keli Birchfield 2019