Abstract Expressionism

by animalworkss

I’ve been had by the world
It was so beautiful
My home within it
Perfectly arranged
And ordained by the stars
As its best representation
What happened?
Deceitful entrapments
Its conniving gaze through
The purdy flowers did
Pierce my gut
And spill my bile
All over
A sublime truth
I knew what it meant
An unjust end to my ends
Yet I questioned
My visceral judgment
And reasoned
With my pain
As if I misunderstood
On account of my
Sensibility and prejudice
Towards personhood
As if I had earned
My dissonant position
In disrupting
Nature’s innocent harmony
With the blasphemous image
Symbolizing pure relations
And endearing realisms
Transcendental in essence
I offered it as homage …
World, you have a purpose
You know what
It is that you’re doing
You wish for a rise
To grow out of me
And create as you
So graciously
Provided my temperament
The birth of new origins
So as to map your planes a’plenty
Clearly and distinctly
With intuitive articles
For lost and hapless souls
Stumbling along
With neither vector
Nor course of action,
To toil with the land
You claim as blighted
As means of atonement
For my perceptual transgressions
Well I won’t scatter your plots
With malicious seeds
Of calculated operation
Nurtured out of the
Spite which spewed
Forth as fertilizer
From my depths
On the grounds
Out of which further
Stupefaction may bloom
For I no longer find the need
To seek your impression
I’ll call your bluff
And raise your rise
With a sink
Trenches whose bottoms
Have yet to find rock
Will counter your light
All day long
A balance won
My ends achieved
Your eye I’ll finally see
We’re both just
One of many
Yet our difference remains
The same
World, I am hurt
By your maltreatment
But I will react as I so choose
So help me God

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright Keli Birchfield 2016

