The Sky Ain’t Fallin’

The clouds loomed a little too low for my liking,
And were tinged with a darkness too sinister for comfort-
What were they hiding?!
I made it my mission to find out,
For I was nobody’s fool!
I knew when my own gloom was being used against me.
These clouds had been tainted with evaporated nothings,
Sweet talked into the hearts and minds compiling the most common of senses,
In order to be exhaled as tenebrous vapors, staking unjust claims on the structure of sky;
And so I lured the clouds closer, still,
Baiting them with the clarity of my attentive grounds.
And my, how convincingly they descended from their status with the purpose of snuffing me out!
“Here, bright child, let us blanket your function with our protective haze,”
“No threat, no matter how despicable, can fulfill itself through means well hidden,”
“Let us lather you in secret, moisturize your very breath with mystery,
And your fate will forever live on in question,
Your substance rising as an immortal exhalation,
Continuing infinitely, indistinguishable from our exaltation of Natural Law…”
Lies. Every last truth of it a trick upon my cognition,
And it is to this conviction I fervently clung
As a dense fog enveloped my horizon.
Before I knew it, the Heavens were heaving their humid might in totality at my person,
Yet all the potentially precipitous participants in the world, writ large,
Were no match for my fortitude,
And the dubious force clouding its own intentions dissipated upon running out of steam.
The hot air rose, and with it my sense of self in suspension,
And never again did the clouds disagree with my presence….

Read the rest of this entry »